Disaster!

Like the title says. I have run into the first major disaster of my thesis so far. Of course it’s related to the f***ing tabloids. I went to the National Library like I have been doing for the past few weeks and asked for the March 1987 tabloids. These would be the Sun, Star, Mirror and Mail. It turns out that the Archives don’t have any of them! The tabloids were all British, with maybe a few pages on Irish-related articles. I’m fine for 2009 but I may have to look elsewhere for the 1987 tabloids. I found a few sites taht offer archives online but it looks like you have to pay for access. Boo-urns.

The Irish Mirror is the earliest tabloid available in an Irish context and its archives go back to 1993.

The Irish Star archives go back as far as 1999 and for some reason are published in Belfast.

The Irish Sun archives go back as far as 1994.

The Irish Daily Mail archives only go back as far as February 2006.

How unfortunate. Thankfully I have a meeting with my supervisor on Monday so hopefully he can help me out a bit.

Song of the day! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5xRDdAMbAtQ&playnext_from=TL&videos=uDVmyk3fP2Q

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

