First Meeting…

So I had a meeting with my course coordinator to try and improve my initial proposal. I had sent a “proto-proposal” and a draft proposal, which were riddled with problems. “Woolly” unclear and “very confused” was how my coordinator described it.

So my coordinator was kind enough to give me some of his time (it ended up being nearly an hour of it) to try and sort out this mess. Needless to say, I was in bad form going in, and I’m sure this was obvious. We got straight into the idea, and he wanted me to first “talk him through” it.

Oh yeah, the idea! I want to examine how the stories during the crisis Budgets of 1987 and 2009 in Ireland were “framed” by the Irish print media. Framing theory (and it’s offshoot, agenda-setting) are well documented theories about how stories are arranged in order of importance. I want to examine if the media arranged their stories to reflect the Budget crises, or whether the Editor determined  the “agenda” of the paper.

My coordinator seemed satisfied with my idea once I spoke to him about it, but he said I really need to work on writing it down clearly. For a proposal of 1,500 words (roughly) every sentence is important. Naturally this is something I failed utterly to realize. He ended the meeting by asking for a new draft proposal as soon as possible. Despite the Trinity Ball looming over me the next day(!) I said I’d have an email for him by hopefully Sunday. He ended the meeting by saying I had “good bones for a good thesis” but I wasn’t convinced, but that’s my problem, not his 😛

Song of the day! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QNL2gziCKX8

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

